About

Welcome to
Massachusetts Horticultural Society!

 

Come, learn, and grow with Massachusetts Horticultural Society! Throughout the year, we host classes and courses to connect all ages and backgrounds to plants and the environment. These programs explore plants, gardening, and the natural world.  We steward The Gardens at Elm Bank, a blend of historic and contemporary gardens that demonstrate how plants and design are an integral part of everyday life. Our gardens and programs highlight sustainable design, interpret cultural practices, and foster pure delight. As America’s oldest organized horticultural society we celebrate horticulture for the public good, “Commune Bonum.”

 

Mission

Massachusetts Horticultural Society is dedicated to encouraging the science and practice of horticulture and to developing the public’s enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of plants and the environment.

 

Contact Us

 

Address

Massachusetts Horticultural Society
The Gardens at Elm Bank
900 Washington Street
Wellesley, MA 02482

Phone

Main Phone: 617-933-4900
Fax: 617-933-4901
TTY: 781-235-5655

Office Hours

8 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Monday through Friday

Staff

President and Executive Director
James Hearsum
617-933-4955
jhearsum@masshort.org

Director of Facilities, Grounds, and Horticulture
Dan Brooks
617-933-4992
dbrooks@masshort.org

Membership Associate
Zee Camp
617-933-4963
membership@masshort.org

Chief Financial Officer
Kevin Coffey
617-933-4981
kcoffey@masshort.org

Events Assistant
Lindsay Dias
617-933-49211
ldias@masshort.org

Director of Programs and Education
Allison Dush
617-933-4973
adush@masshort.org

Volunteer Engagement Manager
Julie Griffin
617-933-4934
jgriffin@masshort.org

Director of Development
Elaine Lawrence
617-933-4945
elawrence@masshort.org

Garden Education Instructor
Lise Lorimer
617-933-4972
llorimer@masshort.org

Accounting Assistant
Miriam Miranda
617-933-4980
mmiranda@masshort.org

Library & Archives
Maureen O’Brien
617-933-4912
library@masshort.org

Director of Events
Kayleigh Tosches
617-933-4921
ktosches@masshort.org

Mass Hort Helpline
617-933-4929
mghelpline@masshort.org

Governance

Board of Trustees

Fiscal Year 2020

Wayne Mezitt, Chair of the Board
Board, Weston Nurseries

James Hearsum, President and Executive Director

Mark Ahronian
Owner, Ahronian Landscape and Design

Gretel Anspach
Retired, Engineer 

Lynne K. Bower
Owner, Stonegate Gardens

Allen E. Erickson
Founding Partner, Turtle Lane Partners

Lisa Haddad, Clerk
Partner, Goodwin Proctor

Graham Luce
BJ’s Wholesale Club, Senior VP

Suzanne B. McCance
Garden Club Federation of Massachusetts

Dr. Barbara Millen
Professor, Department of Family Medicine, Boston University School of Medicine, Boston, MA

Susan S. Mooney
Managing Director, Prio Wealth

Julia O’Brien
Retired, Planner at MA Department of Conservation Recreation

Finley Perry
Retired, Founder and Owner F.H. Perry Builder

Kenneth Peters
Archetype, Executive VP

Darrol Roberts
Owner, Roberts Wineware

Robert H. Smith, Treasurer
CPA & Managing Director, CBIZ

Helen R. Strieder
New England Baptist Hospital

Board of Overseers

Fiscal Year 2020

Jackie Bean

Scott Birney

Stephanie Chlan

John Cronin

Chris Duminuco

Beth Gray-Nix

Richard Hohmann

Maureen Horn

Frank Hunnewell

Penni Jenkins

Heidi Kost-Gross

Annette Lee

Jeanne Leszczynski

Betsy Ridge-Madsen

Suzanne Mahler

Robert Marzilli

Marisa McCoy

Holly Perry

Greg Rubin

Art Scarpa

Connie Smith

Karin Stanley

Paul Steen

Suzanne Thatcher

Caroline Whitney

Financial Statements

Mass Hort Financial Statement FY18

Mass Hort Financial Statement FY17

Annual Report FY18

Annual Report FY17

 

Latest News

James Hearsum Named New Executive Director

Edward Lincoln Hale Digital Collections

Sign Up for our Newsletter