About

Welcome to Massachusetts Horticultural Society!

 

Founded in 1829, we are America’s oldest organized horticultural society. Our legacy, from our early roots in agriculture, has been to promote horticulture for the public good “Commune Bonum.”

Our historic and contemporary gardens demonstrate how plants and design are an integral part of everyday life. Gardens connect all ages and backgrounds to plants and the environment. This landscape and our programs highlight sustainable design, interpret cultural practices, and foster pure delight. Throughout the year, Mass Hort hosts classes and courses to engage both adults and children. These programs feature plants and gardening, health and sustainability, and stewardship of our natural world.

Come, learn, and grow with Massachusetts Horticultural Society. I hope you will join us in the garden, exhibit hall, or classroom to enjoy and explore the wonderful world of horticulture.

 

Warm regards, 

Katherine K. Macdonald
President

Mission

Founded in 1829, Massachusetts Horticultural Society is dedicated to encouraging the science and practice of horticulture and to developing the public’s enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of plants and the environment.

 

Contact Us

 

Address

Massachusetts Horticultural Society
The Gardens at Elm Bank
900 Washington Street
Wellesley, MA 02482

Phone

Main Phone: 617-933-4900
Fax: 617-933-4901
TTY: 781-235-5655

Office Hours

8am – 5pm, Monday through Friday

Staff

Accounting

Development and Fundraising

Education

President, Executive Director
Katherine K. Macdonald
617-933-4955
kmacdonald@masshort.org

Director of Facilities and Grounds
Dan Brooks
617-933-4992
dbrooks@masshort.org

Membership Associate
Zee Camp
617-933-4963
membership@masshort.org

Gardens Curator
David Fiske
617-933-4925
dfiske@masshort.org

Facilities and Grounds

Functions and Events

Helpline

Director of Educational Outreach
Katie Folts
617-933-4973
kfolts@masshort.org

Controller
Beth Fong
617-933-4981
bfong@masshort.org

Director of Development
Elaine Lawrence
617-933-4945
elawrence@masshort.org

Library & Archives
Maureen O’Brien
617-933-4912
library@masshort.org

Horticulture and Gardens

Library and Archives

Volunteering

Volunteer Engagement Manager
Amy Rodrigues
617-933-4934
arodrigues@masshort.org

Director of Events
Kayleigh Tosches
617-933-4921
functions@masshort.org

Senior Horticulturalist
Hannah Traggis
617-933-4943
htraggis@masshort.org

Mass Hort Helpline
617-933-4929
mghelpline@masshort.org

Governance

Board of Trustees

Fiscal Year 2018

Wayne Mezitt, Chair of the Board
Board, Weston Nurseries

Katherine K. Macdonald, Mass Hort President & Executive Director

Mark Ahronian
Owner, Ahronian Landscape and Design

Dr. Wesley Autio
Director of University of Massachusetts Stockbridge School of Agriculture

Lynne K. Bower
Owner, Stonegate Gardens

Daniel W. Daly
President, Daniel Roberts Company

Allen E. Erickson
Founding Partner, Turtle Lane Partners

Keith Greenfield
Founder and President, Dover Group Financial Services

Lisa Haddad, Clerk
Partner, Goodwin Proctor

Dr. Barbara Millen, GCA Representative
Professor, Department of Family Medicine, Boston University School of Medicine, Boston, MA, GCA representative

Susan S. Mooney
Managing Director, Seaward Management

Julia O’Brien
Retired, Planner at MA Department of Conservation Recreation

Finley Perry
Retired, Founder and Owner F.H. Perry Builder

Darrol Roberts
Owner, Roberts Wineware

Elizabeth W. Rosenthall (Bonnie), GCFM Representative
First Vice President, Garden Club Federation of Mass

Bob Smith, Treasurer
CPA, CBIZ Tofias

Board of Overseers

Fiscal Year 2018

Gretel Anspach

Scott Birney

Stephanie Chlan

Vivien Bouffard

John Cronin

Chris Duminuco

Richard Hohmann

Maureen Horn

Frank Hunnewell

Penni Jenkins

Heidi Kost-Gross

Beedee Ladd

Annette Lee

Jeanne Leszczynski

Betsy Ridge-Madsen

Suzanne Mahler

Marisa McCoy

Holly Perry

Greg Rubin

Art Scarpa

Connie Smith

Karin Stanley

Paul Steen

Suzanne Thatcher

Caroline Whitney

Current Financial Statement FY17

MassHort FinancialStatementsFY17

Annual ReportFY17_2-19-18-SCREEN-3

Latest News

See the Children Grow-Boston Globe 7/1/18

A Night in Napa_On June 14_ press release 5-3-18

NESAatElmBank2018-web

Gardeners’ Fair 2018!

Garden History Symposium

Edward Lincoln Hale Digital Collections

Sign Up for our Newsletter