Sunday, 22 October 2017      Home | Membership

Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider

Seed to Table Garden

The Seed to Table program:

  • Provides fresh, organic produce to families in need
  • Offers hands-on classes for people looking to grow and cook their own food
  • Promotes sustainable gardening methods

 

garden_to_table_garden.jpg

Seed to Table in Dover. This 6,000-foot garden in Dover was designed by a team of Master Gardeners to offer both educational instruction and a source of inspiration for home gardeners and cooks. It illustrates the quantity and variety of foods that can be grown even in the smallest yard. Half of the beds showcase the possibilities for first time gardeners, with a wide variety of ethnic cuisines from around the world. The other half of the garden consists of production beds where organic vegetables are grown for distribution to local food pantries. 

garden_to_table_garden_tufts.jpg

Seed to Table in Boston. The Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging at Tufts University (USDA HNRCA) is partnering with Mass Hort to raise vegetables in an indoor garden on the university's Chinatown campus. The gardens feature three elevated beds that will produce a steady harvest for the St. Francis House. In addition, this highly visible garden is helping to raise awareness about the role of nutrient-rich foods in promoting good health.

Learn more about the Seed to Table Program here.

About the Massachusetts Horticultural Society

Mass Hort logo newFounded in 1829, the Massachusetts Horticultural Society is dedicated to encouraging the science and practice of horticulture and developing the public's enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of plants and the environment.

2017-2018 Calendar & Courses

2017-2018 Calendar and Courses

Mass Hort Shop

Milkweed small
Botanical Prints
Now on Sale
The Perfect Gift
Visit the Store

Mass Hort Classes & Events

Tue Oct 24 @ 1:30AM - 03:00PM
Singing in the Rain
Wed Nov 01 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
Integrated Pest Management Course
Thu Nov 02 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
House Plant Success
Wed Nov 08 @ 1:00PM - 05:00PM
Ecological Gardening Symposium
Thu Nov 16 @ 1:00AM - 03:30PM
Make Your Own Holiday Centerpiece
Fri Nov 24 @10:00AM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Wed Nov 29 @ 4:00PM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Fri Dec 01 @10:00AM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Sat Dec 02 @ 1:00PM - 03:00PM
Make Your Own Herbal Gifts
Sat Dec 02 @ 4:00PM - 06:00PM
Holiday Hort Gifts
Wed Dec 06 @ 4:00PM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Fri Dec 08 @10:00AM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Sun Dec 10 @10:00AM - 06:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Mon Dec 11 @10:00AM - 06:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Tue Jan 09 @ 1:30PM - 03:00PM
Tour: Harvard's Glass Flower Collection
Tue Jan 16 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Botany for the Home Gardener
Wed Jan 17 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Designing the Winter Landscape
Thu Jan 18 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Grow Your Own Succulent Container
Sat Jan 20 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Greenhouse Growing and Maintenance
Wed Jan 24 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Digital Photography: Capturing Botanic Images
Thu Jan 25 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
Landscaping and Planting Design