Wednesday, 20 September 2017      Home | Membership

Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider

Jim Crockett Memorial Garden

A fine addition to the Elm Bank Horticultural Center, the Jim Crockett Memorial Garden was dedicated in a formal ceremony on Saturday, June 11, 2005. Crockett, the famed first host of WGBH’s The Victory Garden and author of myriad books, fostered a true love of gardening with his “learn as you grow” approach. The garden features poppies from the Victory Garden’s Oriental Poppy colony and UMASS-Amherst Professor Thomas Boyles’ new cultivar variety Boltonia asteroides,‘ Jim Crockett’ , which has small mauve daisy-shaped blooms and blue-green foliage. The hardscape is incorporated into a creative landscape design, and includes granite memorial benches with unique tributes and herringbone brick pathways.

Volunteering in the Jim Crockett Memorial Garden

If you would like to volunteer in this garden please visit the Gardening Volunteer Schedule

About the Massachusetts Horticultural Society

Mass Hort logo newFounded in 1829, the Massachusetts Horticultural Society is dedicated to encouraging the science and practice of horticulture and developing the public's enjoyment, appreciation, and understanding of plants and the environment.

2017 Calendar & Courses

2017 Calendar and Courses

Mass Hort Shop

Milkweed small
Botanical Prints
Now on Sale
The Perfect Gift
Visit the Store

Mass Hort Classes & Events

Thu Sep 21 @ 7:00AM - 08:30PM
Art & Spirit in the Garden: Incorporating Sculpture into Your Outdoor Landscape
Thu Sep 21 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
Landscaping and Planting Design
Sun Sep 24 @10:30AM - 12:00PM
Composting at Home and in School Gardens
Thu Sep 28 @ 7:00PM - 08:30PM
Putting the Garden to Bed
Fri Nov 24 @10:00AM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Wed Nov 29 @ 4:00PM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Fri Dec 01 @10:00AM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Wed Dec 06 @ 4:00PM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Fri Dec 08 @10:00AM - 08:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Sun Dec 10 @10:00AM - 06:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village
Mon Dec 11 @10:00AM - 06:00PM
Festival of Trees and Snow Village

Friends of Mass Hort Events

No events